Archaon On Foot (Independent Commission)

Archaon

Archaon

Archaon

Archaon

Here is Archaon “The Everchosen!” This is one half of a independent commission I am currently working on. I chose to paint Archaon in black (similar to the GW sample), but strayed away from the reddish highlights and instead went for a true black.

Painting black comes up often on painting forums, but I think people make it harder than it has to be. This black armor is achieved by progressive layers of black mixed with white. Each layer I only add a tiny bit of white and I try to avoid finishing anywhere near even a dark gray (such as Vallejo German Gray). I build my highlights toward the raised areas where light would naturally collect. This is a time consuming technique but I find it to be effective.

~GPC

Leave a Reply

